Home > Athletics News > 2019 > Hurricanes to celebrate 2022-23 this Wednesday evening

Womens Basketball

Cross Country

Womens Hockey

Womens Soccer

Womens Volleyball

Mens Baseball

Mens Basketball


Mens Soccer

Mens Volleyball

Hurricanes to celebrate 2022-23 this Wednesday evening

The Holland Hurricanes will hold their 2023 Awards celebration this Wednesday evening at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall in Charlottetown.  The event will see awards being handed out to their top performing student-athletes from the 2022-23 season.

The event, beginning at 5:30pm, will commence with a reception and photo opportunities, with the awards portion of the night beginning at 6:45pm.  The event is closed to the public with award announcements being made live on the Hurricanes social media pages.

A total of 47 team awards will be announced, followed by the major awards portion of the evening.  All eyes will be on the Hurricanes Rookies of the Year, and Athletes of the Year awards.  Nominees for the awards were announced over the weekend.


Female Rookie of the Year nominees

  • Lauren Armstrong, basketball
  • Claire Barkhouse, golf/volleyball
  • Misha Koyari, soccer
  • Emily MacDonald, rugby
  • Charlotte Sweetapple, volleyball


Male Rookie of the Year nominees

  • Keisuke Masuda, soccer
  • Parker Orr, football
  • Duncan Picketts, baseball
  • Kiefer Sinclair, volleyball
  • Kyree Thompson, basketball


Female Athlete of the Year nominees

  • Emma Arsenault, hockey
  • Lisa Bolander, basketball
  • Kathleen Curran, rugby
  • Reese Kelly, soccer
  • Morgan White, volleyball


Male Athlete of the Year nominees

  • Mohammad Alhaj Ali, soccer
  • Joseph Bertram, football
  • Cameron Calhoun, volleyball
  • Jalen Menzies, basketball
  • Ethan Smith, baseball


The nominees were also announced for the Hurricanes Physiotherapy Award over the weekend, presented to the Holland College student-athlete who exemplifies perseverance and overcomes adversity to return to play or continue to contribute to their team after injury or health challenge.  The three nominees were as follows:

  • Hayden Machacynksi, football
  • Marcellus Taliaferro, men’s basketball
  • Laytaysha Tynes, women’s rugby


For more information on the 2023 Hurricanes Awards, be sure to follow the ‘Canes across all social media platforms.

Connect with the Hurricanes at www.hollandhurricanes.com, www.facebook.com/hollandhurricanes,www.twitter.com/hc_hurricanes and www.instagram.com/hollandhurricanes.


For more information about this release, please contact:
Daniel Cudmore, Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator
Tel: (902) 894-6870
Date: Monday, April 03, 2023