Home > Athletics News > 2019 > Championship time for the Hurricanes

Womens Badminton

Mens Badminton

Championship time for the Hurricanes

The Holland Hurricanes men’s and women’s badminton players will travel to Sackville, New Brunswick this weekend to compete in the 2019 ACAA Badminton Championships.

The two-day event begins on Saturday with the ACAA Championship being contended for.  The action continues on Sunday where the participants will compete to represent the conference at the CCAA National Championships being hosted in Truro, NS by the Dal AC Rams.

Head coach, Emma Hughes, is excited to get play underway this weekend.

“Our players have been working hard all season for this weekend.  Their hard work and level of dedication is bound to show in their team and individual results.  It’s bittersweet to end the season with so many wonderful players.”

Saturday’s ACAA Championship day is a team competition, where points are earned in each category.  The team with the most total points at the end of the day will be declared the 2019 ACAA Champion.

Josh Doiron and Isabelle Saunders will represent the ‘Canes in singles action while Jonah Wilton and Craig McAskill, and Teanna Letkeman and Meredith Harrison will be in doubles action.  Josh Watkins and Kathrine McEwen will compete in mixed doubles for Holland College.

The Hurricanes lineup will change for Sunday.

Jonah Wilton and Teanna Letkeman will move to singles action while Josh Doiron and Avery Woodworth, and Isabelle Saunders and Kathrine McEwen will play in the doubles categories.  Craig McAskill and Bethany Parkhouse will represent the ‘Canes in mixed doubles action.

For full tournament information on the 2019 ACAA Badminton Championships, visit www.acaa.ca.

For more information on the Holland Hurricanes, please visit www.hollandhurricanes.com, www.facebook.com/hollandhurricanes, www.twitter.com/hc_hurricanes and www.instagram.com/hollandhurricanes.


For more information about this release, please contact:
Daniel Cudmore, Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator
Tel: (902) 894-6870
Date: Friday, February 15, 2019