Home > Athletics News > 2019 > Hurricanes Announce 2023 Award Winners

Womens Basketball

Cross Country

Womens Hockey

Womens Soccer

Womens Volleyball

Mens Baseball

Mens Basketball


Mens Soccer

Mens Volleyball

Hurricanes Announce 2023 Award Winners

The Holland Hurricanes handed out their awards from the 2022-2023 season on Wednesday evening at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall in Charlottetown on the Holland College Prince of Wales Campus.

The evening consisted of team awards being handed out to start (see full list below), followed by major award winners to conclude the evening.

The big winners were Morgan White (volleyball, 

Charlottetown, PEI) and Mohammad Alhaj Ali (soccer, Daraa, Syria) being named the 2023 Holland Hurricanes Athletes of the Year.

White led the ‘Canes to their second Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) title in team history.  The star outside hitter was named to the first ACAA All-Conference team before attending the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) National Championship in Calgary, Alberta.

To cap off her 2022-2023 collegiate athletics year, White was also named the Most Valuable Player for the women’s volleyball ‘Canes.

Alhaj Ali, also the 2022 Hurricanes male Athlete of the Year, led the men’s soccer Hurricanes to their tenth ACAA title in team history, before competing at the CCAA National Championship in Langley, British Columbia.

He was recognized as a CCAA All-Canadian, the ACAA Player of the Year, a member of the ACAA first all-conference team, the PEI Soccer Senior Male Player of the Year, as well as the Most Valuable Player and Top Offensive Player for the men’s soccer ‘Canes.

Other major award winners on Wednesday evening included Lauren Armstrong (basketball) and Kyree Thompson (basketball) as the Hurricanes Rookies of the Year, and Craig Hoskins (women’s volleyball) as the Hurricanes Coach of the Year.

The Hurricanes recognized those that excelled not only in athletic competition this year, but also in the classroom.

Hurricanes student-athletes that were named a conference all-star this season, plus achieved academic honours in the classroom were Kina Asuma (women’s soccer), Karla Benitez (women’s basketball), Lisa Bolander (women’s volleyball), Cameron Calhoun (men’s volleyball), Ella Hickey (women’s volleyball), Reese Kelly (women’s soccer), Misha Koyari (women’s soccer), Emily Lepine (women’s soccer), Keisuke Masuda (men’s soccer), Logan Rempel (men’s basketball) and Kiefer Sinclair (men’s volleyball); all were named CCAA Academic All-Canadians

Recognized student-athletes from non-CCAA sports with the Hurricanes Academic and Athletic Achievement Awards were Emma Arsenault (women’s hockey), Claire Barkhouse (golf), Kathleen Curran (women’s rugby), Jessica Desautels (women’s hockey), Christian Desreux (football), Tyler Hobbs (football), Hayden Machacynski (football), Matthew Peacock (baseball), Duncan Picketts (baseball), Ethan Smith (baseball) and Madison Tingley (women’s rugby).

The recipient of the Hurricanes Physiotherapy Award, presented to a Holland College student-athlete who exemplifies perseverance and overcomes adversity to return to play or continue to contribute to their team after injury or health challenge was Hayden Machacynski, from football.

The recipient of the Hurricanes Award, in recognition of those that have helped develop and promote the Holland Hurricanes was Craig Inward for his work in developing the returning women’s rugby team to Holland College.

The recipient of the Leadership in Sport Award, in recognition of the contribution to the development and promotion of sport at Holland College and in our community was Ella Hickey, from women’s volleyball.

The recipient of the Citizenship Award, in recognition of outstanding athletic ability, academic excellence and demonstrating leadership and commitment to the community was the Hurricanes women’s hockey team.

The recipient of the President’s Award, recognizing those who are actively involved in promoting and building the varsity program at Holland College was Emily Lepine, from women’s soccer.


2022-2023 Hurricanes Team Awards


  • Most Valuable Player – Ethan Smith
  • Leadership Award – Peter Keedwell
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Owen Robison
  • Pitcher of the Year – Sam Walsh

Cross Country Running

  • Male Most Valuable Runner – Dalton Lecky
  • Female Most Valuable Runner – Tiana Trowsdale


  • Rider of the Year – Meika Mombourquette


  • Player of the Year – Claire Barkhouse


  • Most Valuable Player – Joseph Bertram
  • Offensive Lineman of the Year – Andy Wilson
  • Defensive Lineman of the Year – Tyler Hobbs
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Christian Desreux
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Jacob Zidanic
  • Special Teams Player of the Year – Griffin Chenier
  • Leadership Award – Christian Desreux

Women’s Soccer

  • Most Valuable Player – Misha Koyari
  • Leadership Award – Raine Mary Goodwin
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Reese Kelly
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Louisa McMurrer

Men’s Soccer

  • Most Valuable Player – Mohammad Alhaj Ali
  • Leadership Award – Gustavo Guerrero
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Mohammad Alhaj Ali
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Reid Peardon  

Women’s Hockey

  • Most Valuable Player – Emma Arsenault
  • Leadership Award – Livi Lawlor
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Jessica Desautels
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Madison Tingley

Women’s Rugby

  • Most Valuable Player – Kathleen Curran
  • Leadership Award – Kristy Davis
  • Top Forward – Madison Tingley
  • Top Back – Tori Hogan

Women’s Volleyball

  • Most Valuable Player – Morgan White
  • Leadership Award – Mason Babey
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Jenna O’Neill
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Makena Marble

Men’s Volleyball

  • Most Valuable Player – Cameron Calhoun
  • Leadership Award – Carson Gray
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Luke Hyde
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Tyler McBride

Women’s Basketball

  • Most Valuable Player – Lisa Bolander
  • Leadership Award – Ergita Dema
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Karla Benitez
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Molly Steadman 

Men’s Basketball

  • Most Valuable Player – Jalen Menzies
  • Leadership Award – Almin Dervisevic
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Kyree Thompson
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Chris Cheatham


For more information on the Holland Hurricanes, including photos from the event, visit www.hollandhurricanes.com,www.facebook.com/hollandhurricaneswww.twitter.com/hc_hurricanes, and www.instagram.com/hollandhurricanes.


For more information about this release, please contact:
Daniel Cudmore, Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator
Tel: (902) 894-6870
Date: Wednesday, April 05, 2023