Holland College Home
View Search

Hurricanes claim ACAA men’s golf championships for eighth straight year

October 7, 2013

The Hurricanes hoist the trophy for men's champion for the eighth straight year.

The Hurricanes hoist the trophy for men’s champion for the eighth straight year.

The Holland Hurricanes varsity golf team was victorious this past weekend, winning the 2013 ACAA men’s golf championships for an unprecedented eighth straight year. The two-day event was hosted at the Links at Crowbush Cove with a field made up of golfers from Dalhousie Agricultural College, St. Thomas University, Mount Allison University and Holland College.

In the men’s competition, Eric Locke posted rounds of 70 and 69 to earn the individual honors and a 14 stroke victory. Locke’s Sunday round also included an incredible hole-in-one on the par three sixth hole. It was Locke’s third ace of the summer.

Tariqah Walikraam is the 2013 ACAA women's individual champion.

Tariqah Walikraam is the 2013 ACAA women’s individual champion.

The remainder of the Hurricanes winning team included individual runner-up and third year player Mathieu Arseneault (78-75), Brett Wilson (80-74), Justin Shanks (77-78) and Neal Ryan (80-82). The Hurricanes posted a team score of 601 which gave them a 105 stroke victory over runner-up St. Thomas University. Mount Allison University finished in third place in the team event.

The Hurricanes have taken home the ACAA championship title every year since 2006.

On the women’s side, the Dalhousie Agricultural College relied on good rounds from Jescynda Cain-Hotham and Lindsay Cameron to allow the Rams to take home the women’s team championship honors, the Hurricanes went on to finish as runners-up. Individually, Holland College golfer Tariqah Walikraam took home the title with a 15 stroke victory after posting solid rounds of 84 and 82.

The wind and tough course conditions proved to make Crowbush a formidable test for all participants.

The Hurricanes will now travel to the CCAA PING national golf championships held at Royal Quebec Golf Club, the event takes place from October 15th to 18th. The men’s team of Eric Locke, Brett Wilson, Justin Shanks, Mathieu Arsenault and Neal Ryan will represent the Hurricanes while Walikraam will compete as an individual.


For media inquiries please contact:

Daniel Cudmore

Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator

Department of Athletics and Recreation

Holland College

(902) 894-6870


140 Weymouth Street  •  Charlottetown, PE  •  Canada  •  C1A 4Z1  •  info@hollandcollege.com  •  1-800-446-5265