Home > Athletics News > 2019 > 2022 Hurricanes Awards announced on Wednesday evening

Womens Basketball

Cross Country

Womens Hockey

Womens Soccer

Womens Volleyball

Mens Baseball

Mens Basketball


Mens Soccer

Mens Volleyball


2022 Hurricanes Awards announced on Wednesday evening

The Holland Hurricanes handed out their awards from the 2021-2022 season on Wednesday evening at the Florence Simmons Performance Hall in Charlottetown on the Holland College Prince of Wales Campus.

The evening consisted of team awards being handed out to start (see full list below), followed by major award winners to conclude the evening.

The big winners were Paige Deighan (soccer/hockey, Wilmot Valley, PEI) and Mohammad Alhaj Ali (soccer, Fredericton, NB) being named the 2022 Holland Hurricanes Athletes of the Year.

Deighan kicked things off in the fall, leading the soccer ‘Canes to their sixth Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) title in team history. The star midfielder was named to the first ACAA All-Conference team before attending the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) National Championship in Toronto, Ontario, where she was named a CCAA All-Canadian.

Following Nationals, Deighan returned to PEI to suit up for the women’s hockey ‘Canes. Although the hockey season saw many delays due to Covid-19 lockdowns, Deighan made the most of her time on the ice.  A leader on the team, she came through when it was needed the most, scoring the overtime winner in the Atlantic Collegiate Hockey Association (ACHA) semi-final game, sending the ‘Canes to the championship game on home-ice.

To cap off her 2021-2022 collegiate athletics year, Deighan was also named a CCAA Academic All-Canadian, the Most Valuable Player for the women’s soccer ‘Canes, and the Top Offensive Player for the women’s hockey ‘Canes.

Alhaj Ali made a name for himself in his debut season with the soccer ‘Canes. Leading the Hurricanes into the playoffs as the number two seed, Alhaj Ali was the ‘Canes top scorer during the season, highlighted by the winner late in the second-last game of the season versus the Seawolves.

Although the men’s soccer ‘Canes season ended in penalty kicks in the ACAA Championship game, Alhaj Ali was recognized as a CCAA All-Canadian, and the Most Valuable Player for the men’s soccer ‘Canes.

Other major award winners on Wednesday evening included Ava Beisal (volleyball) and Jasha’jaun Downey (basketball) as the Hurricanes Rookies of the Year, and Josh Whitty (men’s basketball) as the Hurricanes Coach of the Year.

The Hurricanes recognized those that excelled not only in athletic competition this year, but also in the classroom. Hurricanes student-athletes that were named a conference all-star this season, plus achieved academic honours in the classroom were Kateia Barenaba, Ava Beisal, Jenna MacFarlane (women’s volleyball), Emily Cormier, Paige Deighan, Helena Vos (women’s soccer), Kazuya Iwasaki and Parker MacLeod (men’s soccer); all were named CCAA Academic All-Canadians.  Recognized student-athletes from non-CCAA sports with the Hurricanes Academic and Athletic Achievement Awards were Dylan Worth (men’s baseball) and Christian Desreux (men’s football).

The recipient of the Hurricanes Physiotherapy Award, presented to a Holland College student-athlete who exemplifies perseverance and overcomes adversity to return to play or continue to contribute to their team after injury or health challenge was Keanna Ryan, from women’s soccer.

The recipient of the Hurricanes Award, in recognition of those that have helped develop and promote the Holland Hurricanes was Greg Ellison for his videography and photography work during 2021-22.

The recipient of the Leadership in Sport Award, in recognition of the contribution to the development and promotion of sport at Holland College and in our community was Logan Rempel, from men’s basketball.

The recipient of the Citizenship Award, in recognition of outstanding athletic ability, academic excellence and demonstrating leadership and commitment to the community was Jack Mackenzie, from men’s baseball.

The recipient of the President’s Award, recognizing those who are actively involved in promoting and building the varsity program at Holland College was Helena (women’s soccer) and John Alex Vos (men’s soccer/basketball).


2021-2022 Hurricanes Team Awards


Men’s Baseball

Most Valuable Player – Dylan Worth

Leadership Award – Ethan McLellan

Offensive Player of the Year – Ben MacDougall

Pitcher of the Year – Jack Mackenzie


Cross Country Running

Most Valuable Runner – Emily Swaine


Men’s Football

Most Valuable Player – Christian Desreux

Offensive Lineman of the Year – Stephen Sears Jr.

Defensive Lineman of the Year – Tyler Hobbs

Offensive Player of the Year – Brian Fitzgerald

Defensive Player of the Year – Tyler Newson

Special Teams Player of the Year – Brian Fitzgerald

Leadership Award – Griffin Chenier



Rider of the Year – Skylar Osmond


Women’s Soccer

Most Valuable Player – Paige Deighan

Leadership Award – Miranda McKinnon

Offensive Player of the Year – Emily Lepine

Defensive Player of the Year – Helena Vos


Men’s Soccer

Most Valuable Player – Mohammad Alhaj Ali

Leadership Award – George Shneeberger

Offensive Player of the Year – Kazuya Iwasaki

Defensive Player of the Year – Keegan MacKinnon


Dance Team

Most Valuable Performer – Lauren Dykeman

Most Improved Performer – Britney Bain


Women’s Hockey

Most Valuable Player – Emma Arsenault

Leadership Award – Maddy Clapham

Offensive Player of the Year – Paige Deighan

Defensive Player of the Year – Hannah DesRoches


Women’s Volleyball

Most Valuable Player – Sam Gerbig

Leadership Award – Kateia Barenaba

Offensive Player of the Year – Ava Beisal

Defensive Player of the Year – Jenna MacFarlane


Men’s Volleyball

Most Valuable Player – Luke Hyde

Leadership Award – Adam Terrio

Offensive Player of the Year – Ben MacDougall

Defensive Player of the Year – Marcus Lapointe


Women’s Basketball

Most Valuable Player – Lisa Bolander

Leadership Award – Ashley Plaggenhoef

Offensive Player of the Year – Grace Bennett

Defensive Player of the Year – Karla Benitez


Men’s Basketball

Most Valuable Player – Jordan Holness

Leadership Award – John Alex Vos

Offensive Player of the Year – Jasha’jaun Downey

Defensive Player of the Year – Jalen Menzies


For more information on the Holland Hurricanes, including photos from the event, visit www.hollandhurricanes.com,www.facebook.com/hollandhurricanes, www.twitter.com/hc_hurricanes, and www.instagram.com/hollandhurricanes.



For more information about this release, please contact:
Daniel Cudmore, Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator
Tel: (902) 894-6870
Date: Wednesday, April 13, 2022