Holland College Home
View Search

VBALL | Hurricanes take home hardware entering ACAA Championships

February 24, 2017

AWARDWINNERSVBALLThe men’s and women’s volleyball teams from Holland College were in Truro, NS on Friday to kick off the 2017 ACAA Volleyball Championships hosted by the Dalhousie Agricultural College Rams.

After women’s quarterfinal matches earlier in the day, Friday concluded with the annual awards banquet where the ACAA noticed it’s top performing student-athletes from the 2016-17 season.

The Hurricanes left the banquet with several major awards including five first-team All-Conference players, a second-team All-Conference player, a Libero of the Year award and a Coach of the Year award.

The men’s Hurricanes second year middle, Kenton Dawkins, was named an ACAA All-Conference player as well as one of two CCAA All-Canadians from the conference; he will receive his All-Canadian award at next months CCAA National Men’s Volleyball Championship in Toronto, ON hosted by Fanshawe College.

Other Hurricanes receiving All-Conference honours were Gordon Veitch (Cymbria, PEI) and Brett Butler (Charlottetown, PEI).

First-year libero, Marcus Lapointe of Wolfville, NS, was named the ACAA Libero of the Year after an impressive first season with the Hurricanes. In 13 matches this season he has 115 digs, which is third in the ACAA while his 2.25 digs per set is second best in the conference.

Lastly for the men, Head Coach Joe Ryan was named the ACAA Coach of the Year.

In his sixth season in charge of the Hurricanes, Ryan has pushed the ‘Canes to the number one seed entering the playoffs with an 11-4 record. This is the second time Ryan has won this award, last taking it home in 2011-2012 which is also the last season the Hurricanes entered the ACAA Championship as the number one seed.

The Hurricanes will take on the Universite de Sainte-Anne Dragons (4 seed) on Saturday at 4:30pm in Truro, NS in ACAA semi-final action. The winner will advance to the ACAA Championship game on Sunday at 2:30pm versus the winner of the UNBSJ Seawolves and STU Tommies match.

This season the Hurricanes have been a perfect 5-0 versus the Dragons in regular season play.

The women’s Hurricanes evening was highlighted with three players being named All-Conference players.

First year Hurricanes right side, Alice Marques (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) and second-year setter Gracie Ferguson (Fall River, NS) were named First-Team All-Conference players while rookie Brittany States (Bathurst, NB) was named to the second All-Conference team.

The ‘Canes enter the championship as the second seed after an 18-3 regular season and received a bye to the semi-finals where they will face the Mount Allison Mounties. The Mounties qualified via a quarterfinal victory over the Universite de Sainte-Anne Dragons on Friday afternoon in straight sets.

The Hurricanes have had a successful season versus the Mounties in 2016-17, defeating them all three times they’ve met. The semifinal match takes place on Saturday at 1:30pm in Truro, NS.

The winner of Saturday’s match will take on the winner of the MSVU Mystics (1 seed) and UNBSJ (4 seed) semifinal match on Saturday at 11am.

The 2017 ACAA Volleyball Championships are being broadcasted live at www.acaatv.ca via Bell Aliant TV1.

For more information on the ACAA Championship visit www.acaa.ca.

To connect with the volleyball Hurricanes please visit www.twitter.com/caneswvball and www.twitter.com/canesmvball.

For more information on the Holland Hurricanes please visit www.hollandcollege.com/athletics, www.facebook.com/hollandhurricanes, www.twitter.com/hc_hurricanes and www.instagram.com/hollandhurricanes.


For media inquiries please contact:

Daniel Cudmore

Athletics Development and Communications Coordinator

Department of Athletics and Recreation

Holland College

(902) 894-6870

140 Weymouth Street  •  Charlottetown, PE  •  Canada  •  C1A 4Z1  •  info@hollandcollege.com  •  1-800-446-5265